Skip to main content Back to Top

Marianne F. Ivey, Pharm.D., M.P.H., FASHP, FFIP

Marianne F. Ivey, Pharm.D., M.P.H., FASHP, FFIP, is Professor Emerita, James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy at the University of Cincinnati.

She was previously Vice President for Pharmacy Services of the Health Alliance in Cincinnati and Director of Pharmacy Services at the University of Cincinnati. Before that, Dr. Ivey was Associate Director of Pharmacy Services at the University of Washington and Harborview Medical Center, and Associate Professor of Pharmacy at the University of Washington.

Her practice, research, and teaching expertise encompass strategic planning, quality improvement, automation, clinical outcomes, pharmacy resident training, leadership, and pharmacy resource management in hospitals and integrated health systems.

Dr. Ivey is a Past President of ASHP and served as Chair of the ASHP House of Delegates and as ASHP Treasurer. She also served on the faculty of the ASHP Foundation Pharmacy Leadership Academy and as a participant in the Foundation Visiting Leaders program. Her ASHP service includes numerous councils and committees, including the Accreditation Process Oversight Committee of the Center for Pharmacy Practice Accreditation.

Dr. Ivey is Immediate Past President of the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP) Hospital Pharmacy Section. She has also served FIP as Vice President for the Americas and was a pivotal contributor to the FIP Global Conference on the Future of Hospital Pharmacy.

A highly sought-after speaker, Dr. Ivey has lectured in more than a dozen countries on a variety of topics, including quality improvement, clinical outcomes, pharmacy resource management, and leadership. She has served as a mentor to both U.S. and international pharmacy students and has hosted several pharmacists from Africa through the FIP Pharmabridge program, which seeks to improve pharmacy services in low-income and emerging countries.

Dr. Ivey is a member of the of the Board of Pharmacy Specialties, , the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy External Advisory Board, and the St. Louis College of Pharmacy President’s Advisory Council. She previously served on the University of Wisconsin School of Pharmacy’s Board of Visitors.

Dr. Ivey is the recipient of numerous honors and awards, including ASHP’s Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award, Donald E. Francke Medal, and John W. Webb Lecture Award. A Fellow of ASHP and a member of the United States Pharmacopeial Convention, Dr. Ivey also received the FIP Distinguished Pharmacy Practice Award and the Ohio Society of Health-System Pharmacists’ Walter Frazier Leadership Award.