Skip to main content Back to Top

ASHP Honorary Membership Award

The ASHP Board of Directors’ Honorary Membership Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to pharmacy practice.

Per ASHP’s bylaws, honorary members are elected for life by unanimous vote of the ASHP Board of Directors. The award may be presented annually at the ASHP Summer Meetings or other appropriate function. One or more awards may be conferred each year.

Honorary members may vote or hold office if otherwise eligible, though no dues shall be required.

2021 Recipients

Johnnie EarlyJohnnie L. Early II, R.Ph., Ph.D., FNPhA
Florida A&M University College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Institute of Public Health
Tallahassee, FL

Dr. Early is a distinguished educator and visionary leader in pharmacy. He has been instrumental in addressing racial disparities in healthcare, expanding opportunities for BIPOC youth to explore careers in pharmacy practice and the pharmaceutical sciences, and developing a more diverse and culturally competent healthcare workforce.

Peter VlassesPeter H. Vlasses, Pharm.D., DSc (Hon.), FCCP
Executive Director Emeritus
Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education
Chicago, IL

Dr. Vlasses is a prominent leader in pharmacy who was a significant ASHP partner in developing the ASHP/ACPE national accreditation standards for pharmacy technician education and training programs. His vision, commitment, and collaborative leadership have helped strengthen the foundation of excellence in accreditation of the education of pharmacists and pharmacy technicians in the United States and around the world. 

Criteria and Eligibility

ASHP members are invited, annually, to suggest nominees in writing with substantiating evidence. Nominations should state the outstanding contributions that the nominee has made to pharmacy practice.

Current ASHP Board members and ASHP staff are not eligible.

Nominating Instructions

Nominations are accepted year-round and are to be transmitted electronically during this period using the Award Nominations Form. Please see the Call for Award Nominations to reference the criteria for the award as well as the nomination instructions. 

Nominations received by October 1 will be reviewed by the Awards Committee, and selections will be made the following February. In some years, selections are not made for all awards.

If you have any questions about the Awards Program, please contact the Office of Member Relations at [email protected].

See Past Recipients



Conferences, meetings, workshops, and recertification courses for pharmacy professionals

Find a Meeting
Link the whole card
ASHP Consulting Photo

ASHP Consulting Service

Assisting clients with safety and quality-focused recommendations
Learn More
Link the whole card

About ASHP

We represent pharmacists who serve as patient care providers in acute and ambulatory settings.

Read More
Link the whole card

Join / Renew

Join ASHP or renew your membership to take advantage of our benefits, services and resources
View Benefits
Link the whole card