Skip to main content Back to Top

Executive Team and Lead Consultants

Paul Bush

Paul W. Bush, Pharm.D., MBA, BCPS, FASHP

Vice President, Global Resource Development and Consulting

Paul Bush is the Vice President for Global Resource Development and Consulting for the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).  He has held the positions of Chief Pharmacy Officer for Duke University Hospital in Durham, NC, Director of Pharmacy Services for Medical University of South Carolina, St. John Hospital and Medical Center and Detroit Osteopathic Hospital and was Corporate Director for Clinical Pharmacy Services for Horizon Health System.

Dr. Bush received his B.S. in Pharmacy from the University of Michigan and Pharm.D. and M.B.A. from Wayne State University in Detroit, Michigan.  He serves on the faculty of University of North Carolina Eschelman School of Pharmacy and Campbell University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences.  He previously served on the faculty of the Medical University of South Carolina (1999-2009) and Wayne State University (1984-1999) and served as Clinical Associate Dean for Medical Center and Health Systems for the South Carolina College of Pharmacy.

He has served as presidential officer, board member and Chair of the Board of Directors of ASHP.  Dr. Bush is Past-Treasurer of the Michigan Pharmacists Association. He has served on the Michigan Society of Health System Pharmacists Board of Directors and held the position of President-elect.  Dr. Bush is Past-Chair of the ASHP Section of Pharmacy Practice Managers, Past-Chair of the University HealthSystem Pharmacy Council and has served as a member of the ASHP House of Delegates, Commission on Credentialing, Commission on Goals, and the Practice Model Summit Advisory Committee.  He is a member of APhA and ACCP.   

David Warner

David J. Warner, Pharm.D.

Senior Director, Consulting and Practice Development

David J. Warner is Senior Director, Consulting and Practice Development at ASHP, Bethesda, Md. Prior to this, he was Director, International Residency Program Development, in the Accreditation Services Office at ASHP. For more than 30 years, David has been a clinician and clinical leader, an Associate Chief Pharmacy Officer, a faculty member, and a lead surveyor and process developer in his roles at ASHP, Duke University Hospital, and University Hospital at the University of Nebraska Medical Center. David brings his experience in clinical services and practice model evaluation, didactic and experiential adjunct faculty roles, pharmacy leadership, residency training program preceptorship and direction, and hospital pharmacy management to his consulting practice. His results-oriented and collaborative style have produced positive results when evaluating domestic and international residency programs as well as pharmacy practices.

David earned his Pharm.D. from the University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Pharmacy and afterward completed a clinical pharmacy residency at University Hospital at the University of Nebraska Medical Center. David has been recognized in clinical practice and educational roles with such honors as the Distinguished Teaching and Preceptor of the Year awards from the College of Pharmacy at UNMC.

Michael Ganio Pharm.D., M.S., BCPS, FASHP

Senior Director, Pharmacy Practice and Quality

Dr. Ganio joined the staff at ASHP as Director of Pharmacy Practice and Quality in January of 2018. As a member of the Center on Medication Safety and Quality team, his responsibilities span the practice of pharmacy and include drug shortages, pharmaceutical quality, sterile and non-sterile drug compounding practices, hazardous drug handling, and the ASHP Standardize 4 Safety initiative.

Dr. Ganio earned his Pharm.D. from the Rutgers University Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy and his Master’s degree in Health-System Pharmacy Administration from The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy. He completed a PGY1 Pharmacy Practice residency at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center. Dr. Ganio is a Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist (BCPS) and is a Certified Professional in Healthcare Information and Management Systems (CPHIMS).

Dr. Ganio has over 18 years of hospital and health-system experience. His previous job roles have included clinical pharmacy practice, pharmacy informatics and technology, and operations management of outpatient oncology infusion pharmacies. He has extensive knowledge of pharmacy informatics and automation, medication billing and reimbursement, sterile compounding, and outpatient infusion and ambulatory care models.

Mary Ann Kliethermes, Pharm.D.

Director, Medication Safety and Quality

Mary Ann Kliethermes received a BS in pharmacy from the University of Michigan in 1977 her Doctor of Pharmacy from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science in 1981. Her career includes clinical practice and management in hospital, home infusion, ambulatory practice and academia.  Her current position is Director of Medication Safety and Quality at the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. Her expertise is in pharmacist reimbursement, medication optimization, safety and quality attainment associated pharmacist services; particularly in new health care models and value-based payment systems.

She has served as Chair of the Section of Ambulatory Care for ASHP , represented ASHP at the Joint Commission Ambulatory Professional and Technical Advisory Group, the Care Transitions Work Group of the PCPI and the Ambulatory Patient Safety Technical Advisory Panel for ASPE/HHS. She is a member of the ASHP SAG on Clinical Practice Advancement.  Mary Ann has contributed to the Pharmacy Quality Alliance (PQA) since its inception. She has served as Chair, Executive Committee and Board member of PQA. She is past chair for the APhA PCMH/ACO SIG. Mary Ann has been awarded Pharmacist of the Year, Shining Star Award and the Amy Lodolce Mentorship Award from ICHP, the Distinguished Service Award and Distinguished Leadership in Health-System Pharmacy Practice from ASHP, CCP Outstanding Faculty Award and the Daniel B. Smith Practice Excellence award from APhA.