Skip to main content Back to Top

ASHP Pharmacy Champion Award

The ASHP Board of Directors’ Pharmacy Champion Award recognizes leadership in advocacy and public policy that contributes to significant improvements in patient care, drug safety, medication-use outcomes, and advances the vital roles pharmacists play as patient care providers.

The award, which is conferred at the discretion of the ASHP Board of Directors, may be presented annually at the ASHP national meeting or other appropriate function. There is no limit to the number of awards that may be conferred each year.

2021 Recipients

Pharmacy Champion - UNM Coalition

Coalition of New Mexico Pharmacy Professionals Involved in the Passage of H.B. 42, Pharmaceutical Services Reimbursement Parity
Albuquerque, NM

Representatives of the New Mexico Society of Health-System Pharmacists, the New Mexico Pharmacists Association, and the University of New Mexico College of Pharmacy forged a coalition to secure passage of legislation that allows pharmacist clinicians and pharmacists with independent prescriptive authority to be reimbursed by Medicaid and commercial insurance plans for primary care and specialty care services with parity to physicians. This group of dedicated pharmacy leaders executed a concerted, highly organized, and effective effort to improve patient access to primary care and add to the growing list of states expanding patient access to pharmacists’ services.

ADM Brett P. Giroir, M.D.
16th Assistant Secretary for Health at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Washington, D.C.

ADM Giroir played a significant role in facilitating efforts to expand the authority of pharmacists across all practice settings. His ongoing support of pharmacists as medication experts and critical members of inteprofessional healthcare teams served as a catalyst for impactful, profession-wide change and advancement.

Criteria and Eligibility

ASHP members are invited, annually, to suggest nominees in writing with substantiating evidence. The award is intended to recognize an elected government official, public servant, or an organization whose involvement in public policy and advocacy supports the improvement of medication safety and health outcomes and the advancement of pharmacy practice. Support can be demonstrated either through a recent singular, significant achievement or for career-long contributions and accomplishments at the local, state, or national level. Examples include but are not limited to outstanding contributions to the visibility, value, and advancement of pharmacy practice and health policy through political and legislative activity, patient advocacy, civic leadership, and/or environmental stewardship with regard to ASHP’s strategic priorities and key advocacy issues.

Nominees may be pharmacists or non-pharmacists, regardless of practice area or ASHP membership status. Current ASHP Board members and ASHP staff are not eligible.

Nominating Instructions

Nominations are accepted year-round and are to be transmitted electronically during this period using the Award Nominations Form. Please see the Call for Award Nominations to reference the criteria for the award as well as the nomination instructions. 

Nominations received by October 1 will be reviewed by the Awards Committee, and selections will be made the following February. In some years, selections are not made for all awards.

If you have any questions about the Awards Program, please contact the Office of Member Relations at [email protected].



Conferences, meetings, workshops, and recertification courses for pharmacy professionals

Find a Meeting
Link the whole card
ASHP Consulting Photo

ASHP Consulting Service

Assisting clients with safety and quality-focused recommendations
Learn More
Link the whole card

About ASHP

We represent pharmacists who serve as patient care providers in acute and ambulatory settings.

Read More
Link the whole card

Join / Renew

Join ASHP or renew your membership to take advantage of our benefits, services and resources
View Benefits
Link the whole card