Skip to main content Back to Top

ASHP Pharmacy Technician Excellence Award

The ASHP Board of Directors’ Pharmacy Technician Excellence Award recognizes contributions to excellence in the role of pharmacy technicians, advancement of the pharmacy technician workforce, and advancement of pharmacy practice.

The award, which is conferred at the discretion of the ASHP Board of Directors, may be presented annually at an ASHP national meeting or other appropriate function. There is no limit to the number of awards that may be conferred each year.

2021 Recipients

Glen GardGlen J. Gard, CPhT, CSPT
Director, Sterile Compounding Compliance
Option Care Health
Chicago, IL

Mr. Gard is a nationally recognized expert in sterile compounding and a champion for the advancement of pharmacy technician roles. He is responsible for innovative and progressive technician development programs that have enhanced professionalization of pharmacy technicians and elevated the pharmacy technician workforce through his work with ASHP, the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board, and others.

Matthew RewaldMatthew A. Rewald, CPhT
Pharmacy Technician Program Director and Assistant Professor of Pharmacy, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science
Pharmacy Technician Education Coordinator, Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN

Mr. Rewald is a respected pharmacy technician, educator, and leader with an exceptional record of spearheading the development of nationally accredited pharmacy technician education and training programs. His innovative vision and unyielding commitment to training the pharmacy technician workforce continues to elevate the role of pharmacy technicians and advance the pharmacy profession.

Criteria and Eligibility

ASHP members are invited, annually, to suggest nominees in writing with substantiating evidence. The award is intended to recognize an individual pharmacy technician for a recent singular, significant achievement or for career-long contributions. Individuals must have made a recent contribution or achievement that has done one or more of the following in the United States to serve the needs of patients:

  • Affected the outcome of patient care; (and/or)
  • Advanced the role of pharmacy technicians; (and/or)
  • Advanced the professionalization and ability of pharmacy technicians; (and/or)
  • Advanced the pharmacy technician workforce.

Nominees must be pharmacy technicians and current ASHP members. Current ASHP Board members and ASHP staff are not eligible.

Nominating Instructions

Nominations are accepted year-round and are to be transmitted electronically during this period using the Award Nominations Form. Please see the Call for Award Nominations to reference the criteria for the award as well as the nomination instructions.

Nominations received by October 1 will be reviewed by the Awards Committee, and selections will be made the following February. In some years, selections are not made for all awards.

If you have any questions about the Awards Program, please contact the Office of Member Relations at [email protected].



Conferences, meetings, workshops, and recertification courses for pharmacy professionals

Find a Meeting
Link the whole card
ASHP Consulting Photo

ASHP Consulting Service

Assisting clients with safety and quality-focused recommendations
Learn More
Link the whole card

About ASHP

We represent pharmacists who serve as patient care providers in acute and ambulatory settings.

Read More
Link the whole card

Join / Renew

Join ASHP or renew your membership to take advantage of our benefits, services and resources
View Benefits
Link the whole card